Cay Tre Soho Restaurant Review

Cay Tre Soho is located in the middle of Dean Street in the bustling Soho area; the original being located by Old Street.

The Soho branch opened to many a good review from the likes of London food bloggers like London Eater. It’s great to see more Vietnamese restaurants surfacing in Soho, other than Pho. Next Vietnamese place on my list to go to is Bánhmì11 in Berwick Street!


The interior of Cay Tre Soho is slick and smart, a great atmosphere that separates it from the other Soho Vietnamese eateries like Pho, which is suitable for lunch but perhaps not dinner. Cay Tre invites you in to a light and airy atmosphere with friendly staff that are willing to help as soon as you allow them to.

With so much choice on the menu, we opted for the £22.50 set menu which started off with a sharing platter of crispy pork spring rolls, chili salt and peppered squid, cha la lot (la lot leaves wrapped around grilled pork) and wild shrimp fresh rolls; all of which tasted great and was a lovely light way to start the meal of.

20120311-115518.jpg

For the main course we got the butterfish coconut curry which was absolutely to die for and definitely the highlight of the meal. The fish was so succulent and soft, falling apart as soon as the fork went near it. The sauce was creamy with a hint of spice and a gorgeous colour; each mouthful was truly a delight and I honestly wished it would never end!

20120311-115533.jpg

The other main course that myself and partner shared was the Spinning Roast Tamworth Pork Belly after recommendation from the waitress. I know wish I had perhaps tried the duck or ox cheek although will have to try this next time. Although the pork was tender and juicy, there was just way too much fat for my liking, and the top of the pork belly was not crispy enough to eat, leaving me pulling apart the bits of fat from the actual edible meat…not one for those that are trying to eat healthily!

20120311-115548.jpg

Our mains were accompanied by some fragrant jasmine rice and I must admit that the whole meal was very filling but very satisfying.

I still had room for dessert (just about!) so ordered banana fritters with coconut ice cream. The ice cream was AMAZING, I wanted more, I still want more, just thinking about it has made me salivate! So fresh and so coconuty but not too strong, it was absolutely perfect against the hot banana fritter!

20120311-115604.jpg

I’ll definitely be back here at some point to try out some of the other dishes like the claypot simmered Mekong Catfish and Banana leaf whole roasted Mackerel – in fact I may have to just have to keep going back until I’ve had the entire menu as it all seems so delicious!!

SNAPSHOT:
Cuisine: Vietnamese
Price: £25-35
Dress Code: Casual
Nearest Tubes: Leicester Square
RATINGS:
food: 8 value: 7 service: 7 ambience: 6 recommend: 7

Cay Tre Soho on Urbanspoon

